skip to main content

Welcome to Allendale County Schools Special Ed Dept.

about 1 month ago

Today's Leaders Build Tomorrow's Leaders

Allendale County Schools presently provides programs/services for children with the following categories of disabilities:

Autism
Deaf-Blindness 
Deafness and Hearing Impairment
Developmentally Delayed
Emotional Disability
Mental Disability
Multiple Disabilities
Orthopedic Impairment
Other Health Impairment
Specific Learning Disability 
Speech or Language Impairment
Traumatic Brain Injury 
Visual Impairment

Should you be aware of any such children who are in need of services, please contact the school psychologist at (803) 584-4603 on weekdays between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:30 pm.  All names of referred persons will remain confidential.

Child Find

about 1 month ago

By Tenia Creech

WHAT IS CHILD FIND?

Child Find is a component of IDEA that requires school districts in each state to identify, locate, and evaluate all children with disabilities aged three to twenty-one, who are in need of early intervention or special education services. In South Carolina, the children who are birth to three years of age are served by Baby Net, and are referred to the local school district before their third birthday. In order to receive early intervention services or special education, children must meet eligibility guidelines for either of the services offered. 

Children in need of special education services should be identified as young as possible, and also as soon as possible after the concern is noted. The earliest possible identification of educational or behavioral concerns will diminish the impact of the concerns on the child’s education. Federal law and state regulations set out categories of disability. Your child may have more than one disability. The evaluation will help to decide which one is the “primary” disability. 

If you suspect that your child may need additional educational assistance, please contact their locally zoned school and speak with the School Improvement Team (SIT) Coordinator or you may contact the Allendale County District Office at (803) 584-4603 and ask to speak with the School Psychologist. 


Fairfax Elementary School 

(803) 632-2536 


Allendale Elementary School 

(803) 584-3476 


Allendale Fairfax Middle School 

(803) 584-3489 


Allendale Fairfax High School 

(803) 584-2311


Links to Resources


C.H.A.M.P.S.

about 1 month ago

What is C.H.A.M.P.S.?  


CHAMPs is a classroom management system that is designed to develop an instructional structure in which students are responsible, motivated, and highly engaged in the specific task at hand.    


C.H.A.M.P.S. Method of Classroom Management Strategies  


Conversation: Can students converse during this activity? About what? With whom? For how long? 

Help: How do students get your attention for help? How do students get questions answered? What should they do while they wait for you? 

Activity: What is the expected end product of this activity? What is the task or objective? 

Movement: For what reasons can students get out of their seats during this activity? Do they need permission to do so? 

Participation: What behavior shows that students are participating or not participating? 

Success: What ways will you reinforce positive behavior because when CHAMPs expectations are met, students will be successful? 

 
Champs Chart

Homebound Info

about 1 month ago

What is Medical Homebound and Who is Eligible? 

Medical homebound instruction is provided for both nondisabled and disabled students who cannot attend school for a medical reason—a mental or physical condition that exists due to an accident, an illness, or pregnancy—even when transportation is furnished. A licensed physician must certify that such a medical condition exists and must complete the medical homebound application that the local school district provides. The intent of medical homebound instruction is to keep such a student connected to his or her regular curriculum until the time when his or her return to the classroom setting is possible.   

Students who cannot attend public school because of illness, accident, or pregnancy, even with the aid of transportation, are eligible for medical homebound or hospitalized instruction. A physician must certify that the student is unable to attend school but may profit from instruction given in the home or hospital. Any student participating in a program of medical homebound instruction or hospitalized instruction must be approved by the district superintendent or his or her designee on standardized forms provided by the South Carolina Department of Education. All approved forms must be maintained by the district for documentation.  

School districts should not and are not required to automatically approve every request for medical homebound. The superintendent of the school district, or his or her designee, must approve any medical homebound instruction request on an individual basis. The district must determine if a student can be accommodated or the program modified so that the student can continue to attend school, even if for a reduced period of time or an abbreviated school day.


What is Special Education Home-based Placement and Who is Eligible?

Special education home-based placement is provided only to the student with a disability and only upon the determination of the student’s IEP team that the home setting is appropriate for the child’s education and constitutes the least restrictive environment in light of his or her particular disability. School districts claim these students for funding under the same category of disability that was used before the student’s placement was changed to home-based. If a student with a disability receives instruction at home because of an accident, illness, or pregnancy, the school district may claim either the medical homebound funding or the South Carolina Education Finance Act funding for the student’s disability, whichever is higher. If the medical homebound placement will result in a change of placement, the IEP team must meet and make an individualized determination regarding the special education and related services needed to provide the student a FAPE. The ultimate goal is transition back into the regular education environment as soon as possible.


Who Do You Contact For More Information? 

Tenia Bostick-Creech 

Coordinator of Medical Homebound Services

Email - creecht@acs.k12.sc.us

Phone - (803) 584-4603 ext. 1130

Fax - (803) 584-5303


Special Services Staff Directory
Abigail Oliver, Self-Contained Teacher
olivera@acs.k12.sc.us

Angela Bassett, Self-Contained Teacher
bassetta@acs.k12.sc.us

Carl Love, Adult Support
lovec@acs.k12.sc.us

Carolyn Wesley, Self-Contained Teacher
wesleyc@acs.k12.sc.us

Constance Mays, Sped Director
maysc@acs.k12.sc.us

Corey Haynes, Behaviorist/Counselor
haynesc@acs.k12.sc.us

Cynthia Jackson, Self-Contained/Resource Teacher
jacksonc@acs.k12.sc.us

Deborah Crumley, Adult Support
crumleyd@acs.k12.sc.us

Denise White, Speech/Language Pathologist
whited@acs.k12.sc.us

Fnu Diwakar, Resource Teacher
Diwakar@acs.k12.sc.us

Genethie Hardin, Developmentally Delayed Teacher
harding@acs.k12.sc.us

James Cohen, Adult Support
cohenj@acs.k12.sc.us

Jean Williams, Adult Support
williamsj@acs.k12.sc.us

Johnnie Mae Johnson, Adult Support
johnsonj@acs.k12.sc.us

Karen McKinney, Compliance Specialist
mckinneyk@acs.k12.sc.us

Mamie Morrell, Adult Support
morrellm@acs.k12.sc.us

Marilyn Ransom, Interventionist/Transition
ransomm@acs.k12.sc.us

Marlene Love, Adult Support
lovem@acs.k12.sc.us

Marsha Williams, Adult Support
williamsm@acs.k12.sc.us

Patricia Campolongo, Resource Teacher
campolongop@acs.k12.sc.us

Patricia Cohen, Adult Support
cohenp@acs.k12.sc.us

Rajendra “Prasad” Venkatasamy, Resource Teacher
venkatasamyr@acs.k12.sc.us

Renette Priester, Adult Support
priesterr@acs.k12.sc.us

Robert Ivy, School Psychologist
ivyr@acs.k12.sc.us

Sarah Davis, Adult Support
daviss@acs.k12.sc.us

Sedalia Sanders, Adult Support
sanders@acs.k12.sc.us

Sharon Brunson, Speech/Language Pathologist
brunsons@acs.k12.sc.us

Steven Bertram, Self-Contained Teacher
bertrams@acs.k12.sc.us

Tenia Bostick-Creech, Data/Medicaid
creecht@acs.k12.sc.us

Vanessa Walker, Adult Support
walker@acs.k12.sc.us

Wilhelmenia Gardner, Adult Support
gardnerw@acs.k12.sc.us